Prayer 21 Nov 11

Dear Abba Father,

Lord I want to remember that this gift of singleness is from you and I will hang on to this gift with You. I know that there’s a part of me that’s feeling sad over a lost love and ‘what-could-have-been’, but that’s too late, and I want to trust that in Your sovereignty, You have a good and perfect plan for me.

But I’m here praying not for myself, because I know that I need to get over myself, and to pray for others. I want to pray for “1)  God-honoring and healthy marriages, 2) courage for men to be who God has created them to be, and 3) courage for women to be willing to see where we need to change (and then change)”.

Father, I pray that the Christian unions would be as what You have purposed and recorded in Scripture:  that the husband and wife would be representation of the relationship between Christ and the Church, with the husband loving the wife as Christ loved His church, giving of Himself, laying down His life, for her, loving her as the husband loves his own body. I pray too that the wife would love the husband and submit to him. I know that the world finds this ridiculous in this age of equality and feminism. But Lord, I pray that we will see the reason behind Your commands and live according to it.

Father, I know that I have a tendency to see the fault in men and say these are the reasons why the women are shunning them. Father, help me to encourage them to live godly lives that will first honour you. Help them to change, not for marriage, but for You. Help them to live couragously as men who would lead and serve.

I pray too for us sisters that we would also see the plank in our eyes and seek to live Christ-centred lives and grow in Christ-like character. Help us to see the error of our ways through the mirror of Your word. And grant us the grace to repent and change.

Thank you, Lord, for hearing my prayer. I know that You will answer this according to Your will.

In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

